Young Musicians Claim Top NZSO Awards

The NZSO announces the four winners of the Alex Lindsay Trust prizes.

This year’s winners

The music awards season continues apace. Witchdoctor recently brought you news of the SOUNZ Contemporary nominees, and now the NZSO has announced four recipients of this year’s Alex Lindsay Trust prizes, which are given to our most promising young orchestral musicians.

Violinists Olivia McNeill and Diane Huh, both 23, each win $2600, which they will put to use to undertake further study in Europe (y’know, Covid willing, and all that).

Flautist Yune-Sang Yune, 23, has won the $1200 Giese Flute Grant and hopes to head to Germany in 2021.

The $2600 Michael Monaghan Award for viola goes to Caroline Norman, also 23 and another who plans further study in Germany,

You could make quite an ensemble from past winners. Those to have claimed prizes include legendary violinist Wilma Smith; Martin Riseley – currently head of strings at the NZ School of Music; former NZSO, APO and NZTrio violinist Justine Cormack; violist Bryony Gibson-Cornish, who has earnt several international prizes as a member of the Marmen Quartet, and appears regularly with the London Mozart Players and the English Chamber Orchestra; NZTrio cellist Ashley Brown; the APO’s virtuoso bassist Annabella Zilber; and arguably our three best homegrown flute players, Alexa Still, Catherine Bowie and current NZSO principal Bridget Douglas, who chairs the Alex Lindsay Award Trust.

Congrats and good luck to all this year’s winners.

Read the media release here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.